Coastal Inspirations

Living on the south coast of the UK it is difficult not to be inspired by the wonderful coast line.  I particularly like the wilder, less visited areas where you can look down from windy cliff tops onto a lively sea (I am a Pisces so I guess this is the Romantic in me).

"Lee on Solent"

Lee on Solent

It was easy therefore to use this wonderful scenery to inspire three hand knitted cushion designs (recently exhibited at Rum’s Eg Gallery in their “Out of the Blue” exhibition).

"Nicky Barfoot One of a Kind cushion"

Nicky Barfoot One of a Kind “Blue Cable” cushion

The Blue Cable cushion uses a lovely variegated wool yarn in a simple cable pattern and is bordered with more cables to give it a frame.

"Nicky Barfoot One of a Kind hand knitted cushion"

Nicky Barfoot One of a Kind “Beaded Zig Zag” cushion

The Zig Zag cushion uses glass beads and moss stitch zig zags, separated by garter stitch stripes for its textural interest.  Knitted in Pima cotton and wool-cotton blend yarns, it also feels fabulous to the touch.

"Nicky Barfoot hand knitted cushion"

Nicky Barfoot One of a Kind “Blue Bead” cushion

And once I’d got my bead stash out (Debbie Abrahams beads are wonderful for knitted projects) I couldn’t help myself with this one.  I love mixing yarns and textures, and beads just add another dimension to the fabric (and OK I admit it, perhaps a little Bling to satisfy the Girl within).

I have just added these three cushion covers to my shop, so do have a look if you have the perfect chair to complement them.

 

Leave a Reply

