Knitted Life “Paintings”

In my previous post I mentioned how excited I was to get stuck into the follow on work from the fantastic Dynamic Life Drawing course at West Dean College last weekend.  I knew immediately after I had drawn this particular sketch that it was destined to become something else, despite it representing three 3 min warm up poses on the first day!

 

"Life drawing sketch"

charcoal on newsprint

After a rummage through my stash to find a suitable yarn with which to translate this image into knit, the sketch was quickly charted and a week later I am nearly through the knitting stage.  Stage 2 will be a wash in the machine to firm up the fabric and then an impatient wait while it dries before I can start to add further line on top with embroidery in a contrast yarn.

 

 

"intarsia chart and knitting"

Intarsia chart on knitters graph paper with WIP in Rowan Felted Tweed DK

 

The final “painting” will form part of my display at the Knit and Stitch Shows at Ally Pally and Harrogate.

 

2 thoughts on “Knitted Life “Paintings”

  1. It just shows that a quick sketch can be just as inspiring as hours of preparation…. and how amazingly quickly you produce stunning work! Looking forward to seeing your final piece.

Leave a Reply

